Press "Enter" to skip to content

AFC Players of the Week – Week 2

RAIDERS K DANIEL CARLSON NAMED AFC PLAYERS OF WEEK 2Running back DERRICK HENRY of the Tennessee Titans, linebacker ODAFE OWEH of the Baltimore Ravens and kicker DANIEL CARLSON of the Las Vegas Raiders are the AFC Offensive, Defensive and Special Teams Players of the Week for games played in Week 2 (September 16, 19-20).OFFENSE: RB DERRICK HENRY, TENNESSEE TITANSHenry totaled 237 scrimmage yards (182 rushing on 35 attempts, 55 receiving on six catches) and three rushing touchdowns in Tennessee’s comeback overtime victory at Seattle. It marked the most scrimmage yards by a player in a game this season. 

This is the fifth-career Offensive Player of the Week award for Henry:2018: Week 142019: Week 172020: Weeks 6, 17 2021: Week 2

Henry now has the most Player of the Week Awards ever by a Titans player, breaking a tie with running back Chris Johnson and quarterbacks Marcus Mariota and Steve McNair, who each won four times.  DEFENSE: LB ODAFE OWEH, BALTIMORE RAVENSOweh recorded three tackles, including a tackle for loss which forced a fumble that he also recovered in the final minutes of Sunday Night Football to help seal Baltimore’s victory over Kansas City. 

He becomes the fourth Baltimore rookie to win Defensive Player of the Week, joining linebacker Patrick Queen (Week 5, 2020), safety Chad Williams (Week 13, 2002) and Pro Football Hall of Fame linebacker Ray Lewis (Week 1, 1996). 

Oweh becomes the sixth former Penn State linebacker to win Defensive Player of the Week and joins Sean Lee (Week 13, 2010) as the only rookies to do so. SPECIAL TEAMS: K DANIEL CARLSON, LAS VEGAS RAIDERSCarlson converted all four of his field goal attempts (46, 33, 41 and 45 yards) and both of his extra points in Las Vegas’ Week 2 victory in Pittsburgh.  

This is the third-career Special Teams Player of the Week award for Carlson:2018: Week 112020: Week 12021: Week 2

Carlson becomes the third Raiders kicker to earn the honor three times, joining Jeff Jaeger (three-time winner) and Sebastian Janikowski (seven-time winner).
OffenseDefenseSpecial TeamsWk 1QB Patrick Mahomes, Kansas CityDE Maxx Crosby, Las VegasK Evan McPherson, CincinnatiWk 2RB Derrick Henry, TennesseeLB Odafe Oweh, BaltimoreK Daniel Carlson, Las Vegas
Please follow and like us:

Hits: 9